Version 2021

Save Options dialog box

The Save Options dialog box is accessed when you save a prompted report. Use it to save the report as either:

  • A static report, which means that the prompts are not displayed for you to answer when you re-execute the report. The current prompt answers become part of the report definition and are used every time that the report is run in the future. In essence, the prompts (but not the prompt answers) are removed from the report.

  • A prompted report, which means that the prompts are displayed for you to answer when you re-execute the report. You can choose to save the current prompt answers as the default, but you can change them when the prompts are displayed. If you save your own preferred answers as the defaults, report execution can be speeded up because each time that you re-run the report, when you are prompted you can simply click Finish to accept all the default answers.

Save Options dialog box contents

Select one of the following to determine whether prompts are executed when you rerun the report:

  • Static: The report is saved with the current prompt answers as part of the report definition. The prompts are not displayed for you to answer when you re-execute the report.

  • Prompted: The report is saved with the prompts. The prompts are displayed for you to answer when you re-execute the report.

    The Set the current prompt answers to be the default prompt answers check box is now available.

    • If you select the check box, the current prompt answers appear when you run the report again. You can choose to use those answers or change them.

    • If you clear the check box, the default prompt answers defined in the prompt appear when you run the report again. You can choose to use those answers or change them. If no default prompt answers have been defined, no default answers are displayed.

You can select whether or not to use these prompt options as the default when you save any prompted report:

  • If you want these prompt options to be used as the default, select the Remember options next time check box. You can choose to use these options or change them.

  • If you do not want these prompt options to be used as the default, clear the Remember options next time check box.

The Remember options next time check box applies to all prompted reports, not just the one that you are saving. If you want to change the options later, you must reprompt the report, and save the report again to access the Save Options dialog box. You cannot

The Advanced button is available only if the report contains a shortcut to a stand-alone template or filter. The button opens the Advanced Save Options dialog box, which allows you to choose whether to embed a local copy of the stand-alone object or to retain the shortcut to the stand-alone object. If you do not make a choice, the object is saved as a local copy, and any changes made to the original object are not propagated to the report. For more information, including instructions, see Saving a report with a shortcut to a stand-alone template or filter.

Accessing the Save Options dialog box

When you save a prompted report that you have already executed, the Save Options dialog box opens after you name the report. You can save a report by selecting Save on the File menu or clicking Save and Close on the toolbar of the Report Viewer.

Related Topics